Skumlove Premieres New Song and Video For ‘The Dark’ Supporting ‘You Rock Foundation’

Self-described as Dark Rock, Skumlove has officially released it’s new single and video for“The Dark”. Skumlove is a band consisting of vocalist Skum Love, Robyn Sin on guitars, Cisco Z on drums, and J. Diablo on bass, with extra guitar effects by Michael Ciravolo of ‘Beauty In Chaos’. “The Dark” was written by Skum Love, and produced, mixed, and mastered by Alex Crescioni at Stygian Sound. The music video was shot and directed by Vicente Cordero at Industrialism Films. 

“The Dark” was written “under duress while being held captive by the height of the pandemic in 2020. The song depicts dark imagery of four characters dealing with stress, anxiety and depression in their lives. A heartbroken girl, a stressed-out businessman, and a bullied youth contemplating revenge, while a battered housewife tries to drown her sorrows. Inside this darkness is a ray of light in the shape of a hand reaching out to pull them out of the turmoil and bad decisions.”

Alex Crescioni, who produced, mixed and mastered the single shares, “‘The Dark’ showcases a new sound for Skumlove that I feel has been waiting to emerge from the depths. The music and video complement each other beautifully encompassing vulnerability we all can relate to during times of mental and emotional unraveling.”

Speaking on the single, vocalist, Skum Love wanted to create a song that felt relatable during a challenging time within the past year. Skum Love shares, “this song is a very personal one.  I knew it had to be more than just another song, it had to be a movement… I reached out to the ‘You Rock Foundation’, and with their incredible help, this song can reach to more people and hopefully reach others that are crying out for help.  Music has always brought me out of a dark place and made me see the light.”

The ‘You Rock Foundation’ has partnered with Skumlove in supporting their single, “The Dark” and hopes to shed light on anyone who may be going through dark times and in need of help or support. More information on the ‘You Rock Foundation’ can be found HERE

Photo by Erika Vincent

About Skumlove:

Skumlove is a dark rock industrial band, originally from Los Angeles. The band consists of vocalist Skum Love, Robyn Sin on guitars, Cisco Z on drums, and J. Diablo on bass. Compared to Type O Negative, Prong, and Killing Joke, lead singer Skum Love always knew he wanted to be on the music scene. Skum Love was also a household name in Hollywood’s most notorious nightclubs and alleyways. While Skum was promoting clubs all over southern California, touring the world and spreading the “brand, there was always a musical itch that wasn’t being scratched. Skum under the wing of Glen Danzig began the first incarnation of Skumlove consisting of an all-star cast including Dino Cazares (Fear Factory) and Justin Bennett of Skinny Puppy. Skumlove has also had Tony Campos (Static-X) and Tommy Victor (Prong), as well as Burton C. Bell and many other forms of the band. ‘The Dark’ is currently available on all streaming platforms.

Keep Up With Skumlove

Instagram | Website | YouTube | Facebook | Twitter | Spotify | You Rock Foundation

Tagged with: